CCEMS Wins Stroke Care Award

For the fourth year in a row, Cypress Creek EMS has won the Khurana EMS Stroke Award for the fastest door to tPA time. Medic 58 had the fastest performance in 2017 with a time of 22 minutes. Oh, and it was during Hurricane Harvey. The award was established as part of the Swadesh Khurana Endowment, honoring the memory of Swadesh Khurana and supporting the advancement of stroke care at Houston Methodist Willowbrook Hospital.

Tissue plasminogen activator (abbreviated tPA) is a clot busting protein which dramatically reduces the chances of damage due to stroke when given early on. Thanks to Houston Methodist Williowbrook for this honor and the wonderful BBQ lunch from Rib Tickler and congratulations to the Houston Fire Department EMS system for winning the 2017 Code Stemi Award for the Fastest Door to Balloon Inflation time for a severe heart attack patient.