CCEMS Recognized for Excellence in Stroke and Heart Attack Care

For the third year in a row, Cypress Creek EMS has been presented with Methodist Hospital Willowbrook’s Khurana EMS Stroke Award. The award was established as part of the Swadesh Khurana Endowment, honoring the memory of Swadesh Khurana and supporting the advancement of stroke care at Houston Methodist Willowbrook Hospital. The award was accepted by Senior Clinical Supervisor Samuel Kordik.

The award is presented to the EMS provider that achieves the Fastest Door-to-tPA time, which is the time it takes for an ischemic stroke patient to arrive at the hospital’s emergency department, complete evaluation, receive appropriate diagnostics and receive an infusion of the clot-busting drug tPA. The whole process is speeded up when a paramedic calls a possible stroke from the ambulance before arrival at the hospital.  Administration of tPA within 90 minutes of symptom onset dramatically improves the chances of recovering from a stroke.

Cypress Creek EMS also won the 2016 award for the Quickest Door-to-Balloon Time, achieving the fastest time from patient arrival at the hospital’s emergency department to when the interventional cardiologist opens up the patient’s blocked coronary artery, restoring blood flow to the heart. In 2006, Cypress Creek EMS was the first in Texas, and we believe in the country, to establish severe heart attack protocols with hospitals to allow paramedics to call in severe heart attacks from the field, allowing hospitals to mobilize their heart cath teams and allowing CCEMS to bypass the emergency room and take patients straight to the heart cath lab. The protocols are now standard practice. The national standard is under 90 minutes, and Cypress Creek accomplished a 25 minute door-to-balloon time in 2016. This is the third time CCEMS has won the Code STEMI award. The award was accepted by Senior Training Supervisor Jonathan Coyle. The awards were presented during the Annual EMS Luncheon for EMS personnel hosted by Methodist Hospital Willowbrook.